The Things I LEARN from Teaching…

For me, teaching this class was simply a way to try to get a full time position at the hospital. My position was a 1 year contract, and no one else seemed to be interested in taking the course to be one of the class teachers….So, hesitantly, I approached my clinic manager about it. She told me that I would have to wait until all the “full time employees” have decided that it was not for them. Politics, even at the hospital. She told me that it would be a great idea, and she wanted to send me, even just to have a better resume so she could try to get funding for my “full time” position.

Class was held at another hospital, and took a full week, and it couldn’t have occurred at a worse time in my life. I had just split up with my partner, found an apartment and her an apartment, helped her get everything she needed, and moved stuff in.

I was sleeping on a blow up mattress on the floor, and everything was still in boxes. Everyday, I would go off to class, come home and do homework, and then try to unpack a few things to be prepared for the next day. That was probably the most stressful week I’ve had in a long time, but that’s the way I do things….

Break-up, move, class….Can’t throw a death or marriage in there somewhere?

By the last day of class, I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt with runners, because I wasn’t able to find all my clothes. (Turns out, they went to Nancy’s apartment by accident.) Everyone was very understanding, and we just got on with it.

The first class I had to teach with Shannon I was a mess! I needed to take an Ativan just to cope with it. I was sweating like I was melting! I let everyone in the class know that this is a stressful thing for me, and I would relax after one or two classes. They were all very kind. We quickly became like a family, each involved in helping the other create SMART goals, and cheering each other on. (Much like our Twitter group!)

I learned the value of a group atmosphere, and how supportive it can be. I learned that people aren’t always looking towards me to supply the answers. They usually know all they can about their diseases, and I am not supposed to be a knowledge base anyways. I learned that some people have never done a weekly goal or an action plan. We taught and learned how guided imagery, goals, long term and short term distraction, education and teamwork with your health provider team can actually change someone’s outlook on their abilities.

The real key is to keep your ears and eyes open at all times. You never know when you are going to come across the person who has the answer you need, to the question that you may have not even asked yourself yet.

Every day, I am amazed by the people that have planted footsteps in my life and in my heart. I have done a lot of growing in the past year, and I am constantly trying to let go of the things I know I can’t control, and get on with changing the things I can. Everyday I wake up, I have opportunities to make a difference, in my life and in the life of others.

I look forward to finding out what everyone in my Twitter group has discovered during their journey through their day. BUT what I love about them the best, is the way they freely share the good and the bad (I am trying to get better at this and not just keep it all inside). We are a group, and as such, we don’t leave anyone behind….We reach back and pull a “girlfriend” up! The support for each other, some that we have met some we will probably never see, is UNBELIEVABLE!

I have always been of the mindset that I have the knowledge to do anything (and by that I mean I am able to research, compile and understand the data collected), I just have to have the mindset to do it, and the focus to stick with it.

At the moment, I am very focused. My diet is back to being strict (which is the way I can handle it the best) and my exercise is driven to say the least. I have blocked out the distractions, and I’m just gonna get on with it! I am on the first week of C25K (again), and have done the treadmill work with relative ease. I want to do well at the 5k, and by that I mean finish it.

2 responses to “The Things I LEARN from Teaching…

  1. Jenn – You are such an amazing person. I didn’t even know about this blog! I was waiting for you to keep updating the warrior woman one. I appreciate you so much. I love how a few simple words from you “don’t let it get to you” – can just level me right back down into my “happy place”. You will finish your 5k and then some. The biggest battle has already been done 🙂

  2. Wow, Jenn!!! I LOVE the way you write!!! I feel the same way that you do about the groups!! Im happy that you’re working on the “sharing” part!!! I never knew you were going thru all of that while teaching your classes!!! WOW!!!! LOVE the FOCUSED, DRIVEN Atittude you have!!!! KEEP IT UP!!!!
    Love Ya Lots!!!
    Dr. Mo (@footdr69)

Leave a Reply

