The Measure of a (Wo)man…

One of my favorite quotes is by Martin Luther King.

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.
Martin Luther King Jr., Strength to Love, 1963
      US black civil rights leader & clergyman (1929 – 1968)

While I am in no way comparing myself to the greatness of the man…I have greatness in me. All of us do. Sometimes it takes a huge event for someone to stand up and become the person they should have always been, sometimes it’s an insignificant event, that just strikes their mind in the right way. 

Last night I finally did it. I had someone measure me. That caused me to sweat a lot! Last week, I bought a measuring tape and put it in the back of my mind until the move was done.

Today, with some trepidation I am going to post them. I am trying not to break into a sweat as we speak. Tonight, I am going to get pictures done and post them to go along with the measurements. Saying that out loud, makes my stomach flip!

I know that the number isn’t the most important thing, it’s how I feel…BUT with that said, I know that for me, I SEE change better when its a number.

So, here goes!

Neck – 14 inches

left Bicep – 12 inches

Waist – 43 inches

Left thigh – 20 1/2 inches

Calves – 16 1/2 inches.

weight 195

Goal weight – 170

height – 5’6″

I think I need to clarify some things too. While I think @mizfit has the sexiest arms around, I want MY version of it. I know I can’t have exactly her arms, there are no two people with the same physiology or physique. I know that to get arms like hers, I have to drop my body fat ratio. I know I have muscles under there, somewhere…they are just protected for now.. :)…until they have their unveiling.

So my summer goal is to drop some weight in a healthy manner, therefore decreasing my fat ratio and letting my muscles have their debut!

I know that is not a smart goal….so here goes!

By July 31st (12 weeks), I would like to lose 20 lbs by consistently going to the gym a minimum of 4 times a week, following my workout plan including weights and cardio, and eating my proper diet plan. I am 80% sure that I can accomplish the going to the gym and eating my proper food plan part. The weight loss is a result of putting in the time and energy at the gym, so that will not be completely up to me.

 

Leave a Reply

